Vijaya Bank Logo

Vijaya Bank is a fastest growing Public Sector Bank with its Corporate Office in Bangalore, Karnataka, India. It is one of the nationalised banks in India. The Bank offers a wide range of financial products and services to the customers through its various delivery channels. The Bank has a network of 1900 branches (August 2016) throughout the country and over 3500 customer touch points including 1651 ATMs.
Vijaya Bank was established by a group of farmers led by Shri. Attavar Balakrishna Shetty on 23 October 1931 in Mangalore in Dakshina Kannada District of Karnataka State. Since it was established on the auspicious Vijayadashami Day, it was named 'Vijaya Bank'.
The birth of Vijaya Bank in the year 1931 was preceded by the economic chaos created out of the Great Depression of 1927-30. The worldwide economic depression had severe impact on the Indian economy and the financial system. Moved by the pitiable conditions of the agriculturists, Shri Attavara Balakrishna Shetty was determined to devise some institutional remedy to annihilate their sufferings. Shri AB shetty approached leading Bunt personalities to start a Bank with the objective of extending credit facilities at a lower rate of interest to enable the farmers to cultivate their lands and prevent them from falling into the clutches of money lenders. Accordingly, Shri AB Shetty involved 14 Bunts and established Vijaya Bank on October 23, 1931. In the beginning the Bank had an authorised capital of Rs. 5 lakh and an issued capital of Rs. 2 lakh. The paid up capital was Rs. 8670.

Leave a Reply

Write your comment...